Seamus Hayes Grabs Third Connolly’s RED MILLS Munster Grand Prix Win In-A-Row To Move To Top Of League Table After Cork Summer Show

unnamedTipperary’s Seamus Hayes scored his third Connolly’s RED MILLS Munster Grand Prix win in-a-row, after another brilliant performance aboard Tina Mc Dermott’s Chipolini VMZ, this time at Cork Summer Show, where they collected the winners prize and in the process Seamus Hayes joined his rival Francis Connors at the top of the league table.
Having won the last two rounds of the series at Tallow and Clonmel, along with another victory earlier this year at Middleton, Hayes took on the largest start-list in this years Connolly’s RED MILLS sponsored series and collected the winners rosette after a nine horse jump-off. Tina McDermott’s seven year old stallion Chipolini VMZ (Cassini II x Heartbreaker), who landed the Tallow Gymkhana a week previous, was again in faultless stopping the clock clear in 44.25 seconds.
Co Waterford’s Tadhg Beecher took runner up spot with Tim Beechers Loughnatousa Blakeney Crannagh, a nine year old gelding who won the opening round of the 2013 Munster Grand Prix league at Ballylawn Show.
Beecher finished fractionally ahead of another Waterford rider Peter Moloney, who kept his consistent run of points scoring rounds going with a third place finish aboard Ann Foran’s Ballyconnery Wood.
Liam O Meara, who occupied third place on the league table before Cork Show grabbed fourth place with Jerry Sweetnam’s Zamir, while Kerry native Maura Counihan finished fifth with Killerisk Minne, just ahead of the only other double clear of the competition Lisa O Farrell and Erkina Heather who took sixth.
Surprisingly, Connolly’s RED MILLS Munster Grand Prix league – leader Francis Connors finished outside the prizes and with ten points on offer for a win, Seamus Hayes has now joined Connors at the top of the table with both riders now on 47 points. Liam O Meara remains in third with Peter Moloney close behind in fourth.
Newcastle West in Co Limerick will host round nine of the series on Sunday 20 July, before the action moves to Dungarvan Show on Thursday 24 July.
Full ​Result – Connolly’s RED MILLS Munster Grand Prix League – Round 8  – Cork Summer Show 12/07/2014
1. Seamus Hayes/Chipolini VMZ 0/0 44.25
2. Tadhg Beecher/Loughnatousa Blakeney Crannagh 0/0 45.28
3. Peter Moloney/Ballyconnery Wood 0/0 45.40
4. Liam O Meara/Zamir 0/0 45.60
5. Maura Counihan/Killerisk Minnie 0/0 47.06
6. Lisa O’Farrell/Erkina Heather 0/0 53.07
7. Caitriona Fallon/Nivatas Charge K 0/4 45.44
8. Gerard Clarke/Jakes Dream 0/4 46.52
47 Starters
9 Into Jump-off
Picture: Seamus Hayes and Chipolini VMZ, pictured with Showjumping Ireland Chairman Tony Hurley and Jerry Sweetnam  – Munster league organizer.